Thursday, June 18, 2015


The annual Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations held their annual tennis championships at the  Rexall Centre June 1 to 3 this year. Competition is divided into Open and High School levels. Here are the names and schools of the top 4 in each event in both levels. Participation in this event keeps growing since the event has been held regularly at such a prestigeous site. Pictured here are the events organizers enjoying some sunshine.

 Open Boys Singles:
1.  Mark Jensen Oakville Trafalgar (GHAC), 2.  Peter Coombs Oakville Trafalgar (GHAC), 3. Christopher Corrao- Bill Crothers (YRAA),4. John Drake - Eden High School (SOSSA)

Open Boys Doubles:
1.  Martin Hong & Peter Divilek Abbey Park (GHAC), 2. Brooks Coffey & Alp Tezol - North Toronto (TDSSAA), 3. Nic Loncar & Spencer Grant Oakville Trafalgar (GHAC) 4. James Stevenson & Victor Li - St. Andrew's College (CISAA)
Open Girls Singles:
1.  Mya Bui - PickeringHS (LOSSA),2. Ksenia Providokhina - Bill Crothers SS (YRAA), 3. Anna Maria Buraya - Bayview Glen (CISAA),4. Rebecca Herrington - Banting (GBSSA)

Open Girls Doubles:
1.  Layne Van Buskirk & Silvia Verebes- Holy Names (SWOSSAA), 2. Alicia Opatowski & Carleyah McLean - Dunbarton HS (LOSSA), 3.  Katherine Yampolsky & Alex Fainblum - Thornhill SS (YRAA), 4. Ecaterina Camer & Taylor Cheung-Damonte - Lawrence Park (TDSSAA)

Open Mixed Doubles:
1. Teona & Victor Velehorschi- Massey (SWOSSAA),2. Selena Celic & Adrian Mag- Tecumseh Vista (SWOSSAA),3. Sara Krupica & Milos Markovic - Humberside (TDSSAA),4. Petar Vucenovic & Jelena Vucenovic - A.N. Myer S.S. (SOSSA) 

High School Boys Singles:
1.Grant McPherson - St. Michael Catholic SS (WOSSAA),2. Matt Kovacs - Catholic Central HS (WOSSAA),3. Jonah Baryliuk - Monsignor Paul Dwyer CHS (LOSSA), 4. Matthew Ross - St. Michael's College (CISAA)

High School Boys Doubles:
1. Kurtis Dean & Luke Vesz- Humberview S.S (ROPSSAA), 2. Waleed Baig & Nikhil Taneja - A.B. Lucas SS (WOSSAA), 3. John & Luke Fischer - Stratford Central (WOSSAA), 4. Connor Hutchinson & Tyler Lam - Holy Trinity School (CISAA)

High School Girls Singles:
1.  Jules Johnson - Oakridge SS (WOSSAA), 2. Mara Stroe - J Clarke Richardson (LOSSA), 3. Megan Gilkes - Holy Trinity School (CISAA), 4. Sierra Olsthoorn - Waterloo CI (CWOSSA)

High School Girls Doubles:
1. Catherine Rastin & Clara Rastin- St. Patrick (SWOSSAA), 2. Victoria Tseng Paepcke & Caroline Feeley- Lorne Park S.S. (ROPSSAA), 3. Portia Tabone & Morgan Simard- Lajeunesse (SWOSSAA), 4. Victoria Forcina & Divya Santhanam- UTS (TDCAA)

High School Mixed Doubles:
1.  Matt Fenerty & Zante Botha - Mother Teresa CSS (WOSSAA), 2. Meg Killeen & Matt Gibbard-McCall - Lawrence Park (TDSSAA), 3. Sarah Harling & Lachlan Carmichael - Lawrence Park (TDSSAA),4. Renee Resendes & Ryan Resendes- Holy Names (SWOSSAA)